The Library Losers: In Which Our Heroines Find New Friends and Meet Old Enemies.

The suspicion that the library is not a good place for losing weight became a cold, hard fact when we regathered on June 1. On that day, I went for a haircut. As I walked by the circulation desk, Pam asked expectantly, “Will you be stopping at a drive-thru on the way back?” I had not planned on it, but suddenly it seemed like a good idea. Two hours later, I walked into the library with two Frosties in hand.

The next day, Charles wanted Pam to go by a meat and three on her lunch break. “Do you want anything?” she asked. I had not even thought of this restaurant one single time during May. But suddenly I remembered that I liked their dressing and ordered some.

So when placed in the same room, the Losers have as much willpower as a girl being asked to “Just Say Yes” by Snow Patrol. Not a positive sign.

Still, the end of the week had me weighing less than the beginning, no doubt due to the numerous printing problems students had, which kept me walking around the computers, racking up 13,000 steps a day, according to my pedometer.

And we now have new friends on our team: Amy from Title III and Tracy from Workforce. So we start with new enthusiasm. Here are goals in no particular order:

  • to lose 1.5 pounds a week
  • to lose 8 pounds
  • to stay at a current weight
  • to build some muscles
  • to stop having the larger pants being too baggy but the smaller pants preventing breathing

Our deadline is August 18 for our summer stretch.  So send us your support and good thoughts. Or join along.

3 thoughts on “The Library Losers: In Which Our Heroines Find New Friends and Meet Old Enemies.

  1. I like the last goal the best “to stop having the larger pants being too baggy but the smaller pants preventing breathing”, but I think I will pick to lose 1.5 pounds a week. Now that I have picked a goal, what do I need to do next? I did walk today on a 15 minute break.

    1. Weigh yourself today and then let me know how much you gain or lose next week. I’ll be sending tips along.

Leave a Reply

