Monday Motivator: Maybe-But Not Today.

I am not a loyal “Star Trek” fan, so Trekkies, please forgive me if I get some details wrong on this one, for I can’t even remember which series this is from. But, for me, one of the most memorable episodes was when a young Klingon had tried to stage a coupe. Captured, he delivered a long impassioned speech on how one day his side would rise up and conquer.

The captor Klingon sat on his throne and listened to all of this, and when the young revolutionary was done, he threw back his head and laughed. “Maybe,” he responded. “But not today.”

It’s odd how you can hear something and take it totallly out of context and have it become some sort of mantra for your life. Or maybe that only happens to me. 

But anyway, I will often say this to myself when I need comforting. The instances are numerous:

  • Reading a book about a lonely, impoverished old lady, I think someday that will be me. But then I say, maybe, but not today. And I go out and buy an ice cream.
  • Or I’ll be with friends who are discussing how someone’s illness and how much worse it will be until he/she finally can’t get out of the house and will die. It’s scary. But I remember: Maybe, but not today. And I try to go spend time with that person while I can.
  • Or someone will point out how my fortunes could change at work any day. Maybe, I think, but not today. So I enjoy the day.

It’s not that I don’t think it’s wise to be prepared for misfortunes– because misfortunes will happen. But I do think it’s unwise to spend all our time dwelling on the bad things that could happen and forget about the good things that are right in front of us right now.

So for this week: Enjoy what the day brings.

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Maybe-But Not Today.

Leave a Reply

