The Library Losers: In Which Our Heroines Discover a Traitor in Their Midst

And that traitor is none other than the Jolly Librarian herself. Yes, I am the one who let the team down this week. It started over the long July 4th weekend. On Sunday, after coming back from the gym, I weighed myself. Then I went to a party where I ate quite a bit of food, including a brownie and ice cream. Then I brought one of the cartons of ice cream home and finished it while I watched an episode of “Lost.” I then weighed myself again and had managed to gain 3 pounds in eight hours. If I had not written down the earlier number, I would not have believed it. 

And I was lost–morally and dietetically–for the rest of the weekend. It culminated last night in my stopping at Publix on the way home and buying a box of Weight Watchers chocolate/raspberry popsicles and eating all twelve of them before I went to bed. In fact, it is probably a miracle that I was not found this morning in some alley with popsicle sticks glued to my face and my body littered with wrappers.

Due to this traitorous behavior, the Losers did not have a good week: Despite one member losing a pound and another maintaining, the total was 4 pounds gained.

As for me, I can only quote Snow Patrol: “Just because I’m sorry doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy myself at the time.”

5 thoughts on “The Library Losers: In Which Our Heroines Discover a Traitor in Their Midst

  1. Hey, thanks for letting me know where to purchase those chocolate/raspberry popsicles!

    P.S. Five times around the campus inner courtyard equals one mile or only once around the perimeter of campus along White Bridge Road, the driveways and back parking lot equals the same. I’m guessing we could work off one or two popsicles per mile, don’t you think? Of course in this weather, morning walks are more advisable……

  2. Faye, oh Faye, oh Faye…..What can we say? The entire BOX? I can COMPLETELY RELATE! Oh, my gosh!

    I have decided I am a sugar-holic. Truly, it is addictive. Since my 2 week binge on ice cream a few weeks back when I ate ice cream night after night – my baby finger started hurting in the joints – and although it has subsided somewhat, it is still sore when I bend it. Truly think that the high intake of so much sugar -so sudden and so constant created this inflammation –or, at least brought it on quicker.

    I, therefore, have let go of sugar as a whole (other than here and there in some already built in foods), in my life. I’m afraid of diabetes development and arthritis. It’s time to take care of myself.

    BTW, buying singles in popcicles OR small ice creams will NOT work or help. I just eat more than 1 until I’m full–which I see you can TOTALLY RELATE!

    😉 PG

  3. I think that is the funniest thing I have read so far today. Thanks for the laugh, but I do feel you pain. I too have NO willpower, but at least I am maintaining my weight and not gaining.

Leave a Reply

