Monday Motivator: Look Forward to the Next Fun Thing!

I was on last vacation last week. As the week drew to the end, one of my companions kept saying, “Now we only have 3 (2, etc.) more days left at the beach. I’m so sad.” This, of course, is one of the drawbacks of vacations: they end, and you must go home, usually to a frantic effort to catch up on all the things that piled up while you were gone. I am not immune to this sadness.

But a few years ago, I read something that made a lot of sense to me. The writer said that before your vacation is over, book your next one so that you’ll always have something to look forward to.

Obviously, this writer did not work in higher education. I will spend the next few months trying to pay off this vacation, not plan the next one. But I do think there is something sound in the advice. So when a friend emailed me that John Mellencamp is coming to the Ryman and did I want to go, I immediately ordered my tickets. Now I hope more fun things happen before November’s concert, but if not, it’s not a terribly long time to wait. (And for those of you who are wondering why it’s not Snow Patrol, the lads seem to be ignoring our continent this year.)

It’s always nice to have something to look forward to. It can banish the post-vacation blues and make facing the 365 emails that came despite the out-of-office message bearable.

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Look Forward to the Next Fun Thing!

Leave a Reply

