Faculty/Staff Recommendation: Phyllis Gobbell

The Help

Kathryn Stockett

The book lets readers experience the era of the 60s in the South,  through the narratives of three women.  One is a young white woman who has recently graduated from college and returned to her parents’ cotton farm in Jackson, Mississippi, and two are black maids who work for white families in Jackson. Each narrator has a unique voice. That’s what I like best about the book.  When going from one narrator to another, I always hated to leave the one I was reading but was anxious to hear what the other had to say.  It’s not often that I say I didn’t want to put a book down, but this was one that I really wanted to keep reading.

Phyllis Gobbell

English Faculty

Leave a Reply

