Library Losers: Here We Are at the Finish Line

I have to admit to an evil fantasy. Every time Amy emails her weight, which has lost or maintained each week, I fantasize about going to her office and force feeding her whole milk and Twinkies. Therefore, for Amy’s safety and my sanity, it is good that we are officially ending this week.

Our final Loser weight is 539.1. For those of you keeping score, it is less than last week, but almost 2 pounds more than when we started. Emily claims success since her goal was to maintain and she has. (This, my friends, is no small feat in the library.) Obviously, Amy has prevailed against the scale as well.

Pam and I? We have had our ups and downs. More ups (as in weight) than downs the last few weeks.   One reason is my notorious inability to get up in time in the mornings to get to the gym. Another is my also notorious inability to pass up anything sweet.

Pam has this to say, “I continue to be convinced that it is not so much what you eat that hurts you as much as what you don’t eat and don’t do. The positives are taking magnesium with folic acid, doing counter crunches, and keeping up with my turkey gobbler neck exercises. The negatives have been chocolate peanut butter balls and free hot chocolate around every corner, dark mornings that prevent me from getting out to walk, and gaining 3 pounds. But I am determined to stay below 140 and to get to 130.”

There are many lessons that could be learned from our experience, and here are just a few:

  • Never make your staff members lose weight with you!
  • There are many weight enablers who think they are just being nice people.
  • Exercise may not be the deciding factor in losing weight, but lack of exercise is a deciding factor in gaining it.
  • The library could be the setting for many reality shows, but “The Biggest Loser” is not one of them.

Have a happy holiday season.

One thought on “Library Losers: Here We Are at the Finish Line

  1. I sincerely appreciate your restraint, Faye. Ha! But if it makes you feel any better, my goal was to actually LOSE pounds, so merely maintaining – while killing myself at the gym and painstakingly following food rules – does not qualify as success. I am grateful, however, for even the smallest of positives, so in that spirit, I’ll take a ‘no gain’ even if it doesn’t mean a loss. Happy Holidays!!

Leave a Reply

