Library Life Listers: And So We Begin

Before I discuss our life lists, I’d like to share something that Robin Cooper-Wilbanks, psychology professor extraordinaire at Humphreys County, shared with me after last week’s post:

For my Psychology of Adjustment class, I have the students do bucket lists after watching “The Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch. He was a professor at Carnegie-Mellon, who was dying from pancreatic cancer. You can watch this inspirational lecture on youtube.com. This summer one of my 22-year-old students died from Cystic Fibrosis and her sister read her bucket list at her funeral. It was bittersweet because you could see how many things she HAD accomplished along with how she was working toward the things she never got to do.

 If you haven’t seen the Randy Pausch lecture or read his book (check it out at the Mayfield Library), it is certainly worth doing so. A life list can be a real source of inspiration.
 
Of course, it can also be fun. And that’s what we’re hoping for. There are five Library Listers (well, four and one who keeps promising to give me her stuff. You know who you are!) 
 
And, as usual, we had some difficulties. Our first difficulty was trying to decide what to put on our various lists. Imagine, if you will, various conversations between Life Listers and me.
 
Me:  I need your list.
Staff Member 1: I think this idea is stupid. There is no way we can achieve these things each week. We’ll just fail each time.
Me: No, they don’t all have to be big things. There can be some small, easily accomplished things as well. It’s a list of things that you want to do before you die. Some will be huge, sure. But some might be something like appreciating sunsets.
Staff Member 1: (simply gives disgusted look)
 
Me: I need your list.
Staff Member 2: I can’t think of anything. (After long pause.) I suppose I could clean my house.
Me: Maybe we should review what a life list is.
 
But in between snowstorms and inventory, we’ve made our lists and hope that our Wednesday postings will motivate us to have lots of checkmarks by the end of the year.
 
Let me know what’s on your lists as well.
 
Until next Wednesday!  
 
 
2 thoughts on “Library Life Listers: And So We Begin

  1. One of items on my list is to always keep learning so I signed up for an online Trivia calendar. I learned that according to a culinary legend the pasta tortellini was inspired by the belly button of the Roman goddess Venus. I thought that was pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

