The Jolly Librarian Ponders Problem Solving: Part 3

Once the problem has been defined and you’ve researched your options, now comes to the time to evaluate those options.

In my research to help me get up on time, the options that came up over and over again in my research were these:

  • Go to bed at the same time each night. That will make it easier to get up at the same time each morning.
  • Do not drink caffeine or other stimulants at night so that you’ll fall asleep more easily and then be able to get up.
  • Keep TV and pets out of the bedroom.
  • Put the alarm clock far enough away that you’ll have to take some action other than slamming your hand down on the snooze.
  • Put the alarm clock on the other side of the room or in another room.
  • Sleep with the blinds open so that natural sunlight will wake you up.

You want to make sure that you evaluate each option before trying it out. It makes no sense to spend time on things that don’t fit your specific issue or that you’ve tried before with no success. You also need to have some criteria that you’ll use to decide which options are worth trying and which are not. They might include such things as:

  • cost
  • time
  • ease of implementation

It’s easy to see that the options listed for my problem are divided into two major groups: those that recommend getting enough sleep the night before and those that focus on the actual waking process. For my problem, I can eliminate those that have to do with the night before because my inability to get up in the mornings has no correlation to how much sleep I get. I just like staying in bed. I can also eliminate the one about pets and TV since neither is in my bedroom now.

So I’m going to focus on the ones that have to do with the mornings. And with that, I’ll move on to step 4.

Leave a Reply

