The Jolly Librarian Ponders Problem Solving: Part 4

At this point, you have done the following:

  • defined the problem
  • researched the problem, and
  • listed various viable options.

Now you’re ready for step 4: Implement your solution.

Yes, this is the action stage. If you’re having trouble in math, this is the time you go to the Learning Center or take notes in class or make yourself speak up and ask a question when you don’t understand something. Or perhaps all three.

As you recall, my problem is not being able to get up when the alarm goes off each morning. I’d already eliminated some options as irrelevant. I have no pets, so they’re not keeping me awake at night. Same for the television. However, some of the ideas made sense, and these are the ones I’m trying:

  • Going to bed at about the same time each night. I have noticed that if I haven’t taken out my contacts and put on my pjs by 10 p.m., I often delay going to bed because I’m too lazy to go upstairs and wash my face and brush my teeth. So I’m now trying to make sure I take out my contacts and wash my face as soon as I come home at night.
  • After experimenting with various alarm clocks, I realize that my order was wrong. The alarm by my bed was set to go off first. Then the alarm in the next room would sound ten minutes later. That seemed logical, but it just doesn’t work for me. When I changed the order with the alarm sounding in the other room first, I was more likely to stay up. (And I do have the alarm on my cell phone set as a back-up.)

Now, in composition classes, when you write a problem-solution essay, this is the end. You’ve stated your problem; you’ve stated your solution. But in the real world, there’s still more to do. Tune in next Friday.

Leave a Reply

