The Jolly Librarian Ponders Problem Solving: Part 5

Many think that once the solution has been implemented, the problem-solving process is over. Alas, that is not the case. At least if you wish to be an effective problem solver.

Implementation must be followed by assessment. You must see if the solution worked and how well. Assessment is easier in some areas than others. For example, if your solution to failing math was going to the Learning Center, the score on your next exam should tell you whether or not the solution is working. If your problem is general unhappiness, then it might be harder to pinpoint success. Still, it’s important to know how and when a problem is solved, and know what criteria constitute success for you.

With my own problem of not getting up when the alarm goes off, I have had only intermittent success. Of the seven days of implementation, I have been up on time for four of them. The weekend was a disaster (which I put down to the time change). Monday and Tuesday worked well, but then on Wednesday, I turned both alarms off and slept until 10 a.m. Yesterday and today were better again. So I’m going to try for another week of implementation and then assess again. I need this to work because I’m running out of options. My next step may be to hire someone whose only job is to toss me out of bed in the mornings!

Next week, we wrap up the process.

Leave a Reply

