Library Life Listers: “Don’t Want to Waste a Minute More, Dear”

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”
― C.S. Lewis

It was a time of moving forward, a time of moving backward, and a time of standing still for the Life Listers, in other words, an ordinary week. With Allison’s return, we were assured progress would be made. Still, as you’ll see in some of our reports; for others, the week brought disappointments. Please feel free to send suggestions when you see us wandering in the life list abyss. We can use all the help we can get. Well, some of us, anyway.

Here are the updates for this week:

Pam:

PERFORMING

  • Booked the SC July 12th date as a trio.
  • Have a tentative upcoming gig at Station Inn in Nashville. Date TBA
  • Have felt much discouragement about not putting a committed band in place so as to move forward with an agency. It has taken the wind completely out of my sails to move forward with booking anything. Must work on my all-or-nothing attitude. This is a big obstacle for me. Any suggestions?

WALKING

  • No consistency of late with my walking. Feel the need. Staying a bit strong from the yard/garden work. Must find more consistency. Any suggestions?

READING

  • FINISHED The History of Everything. FINISHED Nevada Barr’s 13 ½ during drive home and back at Easter.

WEIGHT 128

I’m thinning down week by week. Very discouraged that I partook of Easter cakes, etc. It all began with someone giving us 1 dozen Krispy Kreme donuts. It, like alcohol to an alcoholic, was my demise. I am now eating sugar every day. Very disappointed in myself. Any suggestions?

ORGANIC FARMING

  • Aghast to discover that a POSSUM (I know it was this because I have let a little family live in my garage for several years…they’re not hurting anything, and the cats don’t mind them at all) ATE ALL THE LEAVES OFF MY NEWLY PLANTED PEPPER PLANTS!  Thus, I bought a new little fence to put around the garden of peppers.
  • Have not seen a peep out of any of the seeds I have planted – I believe I was a bit over zealous to get them in the ground (and my mother says they many drown). Also, the tomato plants (including the one for “Jolly”) is NOT looking to good…The ground, I have discovered from native Nashvillian farmers, is too cold. I have, therefore, bought a whole new batch of little plants to put out as soon as it warms up! 
  • I am happy to report that my ONIONS are growing beautifully, as are the radishes, cabbages and cauliflower! The rain has really made them big!

WRITE 1 LETTER A WEEK

 L I am again a failure in this aspect. I have slipped terribly. Any suggestions? Dr. Weed?

KEEP HOUSE ORGANIZED

  • I’m not sure if a tornado did, in fact, come through my office. It appears so. The house is holding up, otherwise (this does not count the fact that I have not seen my kitchen table in the past 2 weeks…)

COOK NEW RECIPE each week

  • No

PIANO

  • Haven’t struck a key. Still plan to…

HIKING

  • Plan to book a day this month to visit Percy Werner Park and walk trails with a friend. We’re narrowing down the date.

 CLAWHAMMER BANJO 

Need to set goal on song list. I have not learning any new songs. Ashamed. Any suggestions?

New additions to my Life List:

  • Travel to Machu Piccu
  • Perform in Rome
  • Visit Greece and see the Parthenon
  • Visit the Great Pyramids
  • Hike to Base Camp at Mt. Everest

 Allison:

an excellent (flute) performance at my little brother’s wedding in May We’ve had two or three productive rehearsals. “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring” is nearing performance-quality; the two pop pieces we’re playing are coming together, too. Last rehearsal, we made a final decision about which arrangement of “Canon in D” to use. Also, not every morning, but on several occasions lately I’ve risen earlier to play long tones and scales before starting the rest of my day. This is oddly relaxing, and I think it’s improving my tone quality as well.

 Margaret Faye said I should say something about playing the fife while stuck in traffic. This wasn’t on my life list : ) but it did happen. I started collecting wooden flutes when I was about 13, and my favourite one is a walnut folk fife. I’ve picked out several songs by ear lately; this is significant because for most of my life I’d assumed I was no good at playing by ear. I think I tripled or quadrupled my meager repertoire when I found myself stuck in a terrible traffic jam last week.

 translate the book of Esther

Wrapped up chapter 2 on Sunday! I’m on schedule.

 work toward solving the problem of homelessness in Nashville Bought a copy of The Contributor. I also stopped to speak to a Contributor vendor one day while I was out walking. I didn’t have any cash with me, but I think that a (very small) step toward “solving the problem of homelessness” is the choice to accept and welcome all people socially, rather than looking away and pretending not to notice someone else’s difficult situation.

 write some things I’m proud of

A friend of mine wants to try NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, which takes place in November) but typically has a busy November, so she’s getting a group together for a novel-writing June, and she invited me along. I’ve no plans to write a novel, but I think I’ll use June to edit the piece I need to finish up. So, I joined the “June NaNoWriMo” group.

 become more fluent in Spanish

Still frequenting the Spanish-speaking church and attempting to make small talk in Spanish, before and after. I’ve sent a few emails and texts in Spanish to Spanish-speaking friends. Listened to a couple more episodes of Coffee Break Spanish.

 give my best to the ESL classes I help teach We didn’t meet on Easter Sunday, but we did the week before. Thanks to Sally, who gave me an old copy of a Word Detective book, we had two fun short stories to work through, reviewing nouns and verbs as we went along! The activity was right at the ability level of most students. (Sally, thanks again!)

 Pam adds things to her life list all the time, so I think (at least for this week) I will, too : ) I’ve started reading Les Miserables, with the goal of getting as far as I can before seeing the TPAC production at the end of May. Last night I finished Book 1!

Emily:

I decided to take a week off of life listing to see what sort of impact it would have on my life. When I needed to bake a cake, I chose a tried and true recipe. I didn’t cook a meal, not once. I avoided the French/French. I did not drive across the country, nor did I think about driving across the country. There were no picnics. I read no classics (Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” makes for wonderful tripe). I planted no vegetables and — when the opportunity to buy twenty blue bottles arose — I said, “Eh…now I know where I can get them.” Do I feel less fulfilled than I did last week? Not at all. What does this mean for life listing? It means it’s merely a hobby, thus I can mark life list item number 19 “Get a Hobby” off my list.

The Jolly Librarian:

Writing: Took a chapter to WG last week. Two people liked it. Two picked it apart for accuracy, which I thought was a little unfair, since it’s a novel about the afterlife.

Socializing: Went to an Easter party. Socialized mainly with two five-year-old girls. Planned a pizza party for my student workers. Since only one came at a time, it turned out to be just eating pizza in the back room. I am truly beginning to doubt my ability to socialize.

Cooking: Made a pseudo-trifle for above-mentioned party. It was not a hit.

Exercising: Went to the gym for 5 out of 7 days.

Reading: Am now reading a series of books on goal setting and change in hopes that I can help students who have such a hard time with making plans and fulfilling them. If they also help me, it will be an added bonus.

I have helped Emily achieve one of her goals by watching 3 of the 4 disks of Mad Men. Unfortunately, since she doesn’t remember what happened in each disk, she’s afraid to disclose something I might not have seen. So we’re not doing as well as we could. But tomorrow, I’ll have disk 4, and she’ll be able to talk freely.

Learn French: I’ve been listening to my French tapes each morning, and last week super student worker wrote out sentences in French on scrap paper for me to translate.

Sally

My leg is continuing to get stronger.  Cannot stand up yet to pedal up hills, but I am get there.  What hurts the worst is going downstairs.  I did help deliver books by bike last Thursday to Glenview Elementary School with Ride for Reading.  That felt good to be helping promote literacy again.

I continue to tell everyone about TEL and MERLOT and of course the Gale library database app called Access My Library.  (I am looking forward to the App forum at TBR in Dickson on Friday.)

Some new things learned:

  1. The 21st anniversary of the Hubble Space Telescope was on Mon, April 25.

The Hubble Space Telescope was deployed today in 1990. It’s easy to forget that though today Hubble inspires near-universal praise and adulation, during its development, massive cost overruns led many critics to bash the project. The revelation that Hubble was launched with a flawed mirror made NASA and Hubble a national punch line. Yet, following the successful repair mission in 1993, images captured by Hubble left even the harshest detractors astonished. Hubble is currently scheduled to remain in service until 2014 when it will be replaced by its successor, the James Webb Space Telescope.

  1. Typewriters are no longer made. According to an April 26 article in the Daily Mail, “Godrej and Boyce — the last company left in the world that was still manufacturing typewriters — has shut down its production plant in Mumbai, India, with just a few hundred machines left in stock.” In case you’re in the market for a brand new typewriter, be aware that the majority of the remaining typewriters are Arabic-language models.

I am still working on the Cycling for Libraries pre-conference idea for next year’s TLA conference in Knoxville.  Books and bikes go together quite nicely.  (Except, on rainy, stormy days like today.)

