Monday Motivator: Get Rid of Clutter

Let me be the first to admit it: I hate clutter. I don’t find stacks of papers, books, and knick-knacks the least bit appealing. I like books on shelves, papers in files, and knick-knacks neatly on shelves. So, perhaps to make me a little less obsessive about this, God decided to plop me right down in the middle of the biggest group of clutter lovers that may ever have existed on this planet: The Mayfield Library staff.

As I type this, I look on boxes of stuff that came out of Charles’s cubicle last summer when we had to move due to the renovations. He did unpack some boxes when we moved back in, but now one year later, twelve sit untouched. And that is only the tip of the iceberg. Since I prefer not to give myself  a panic attack thinking about it, I won’t go into further detail.

What truly amazes me about my colleagues is their total lack of concern over clutter. Books can pile up on a counter, and no one thinks, “Wow, they need to be wrapped and put in their proper place.”  Scraps of paper collect at the circulation desk without anyone wanting to throw them away. Stacks of paper pile up around folks’ desks, and no one’s peace of mind is affected in any way.

As long as work goes on, I try to not complain about the clutter. Still, I think a regular period of cleaning out is good for the soul. For  me, I have a few rules. Every time I buy a book now, one has to leave my bookcase. Every time I buy clothes, jewelry, or makeup, a similar object must be given or thrown away. It sometimes hurts, but I make myself do it. Too much stuff makes me feel weighed down.

So this week, look around your office, home, or even car. Give away or throw away one thing you no longer use.

Leave a Reply

