Library Life Listers: It’s Time to Start Anew!

While our individual life lists will continue (well, except for Emily), we are ending the weekly blogging of our updates. Starting fall semester, we’ll start a new project, which, we hope, will involve many parts of the College. But keep working on your own life lists, and, if you didn’t take this opportunity to start one, do so. It really is fun.

So here are the last lists:

Allison:

translate the book of Esther

work toward solving the problem of homelessness in Nashville

write some things I’m proud of

I’m still working on the same project, but I don’t even remember how much I accomplished this week.

become more fluent in Spanish

I went to Spanish-speaking church Sunday evening, and I held a few short conversations in Spanish.

give my best to the ESL classes I help teach

I taught the first half of Sunday afternoon’s class, and it went pretty well.

 

When I first made out my life list at the beginning of the year, I had “stay at the top of my linguistics class” on the list. I wound up dropping the class and ditching that life list item, but when I was studying for my latest Praxis exam, my linguistics textbook turned out to be quite helpful!

 

Not on my list but fun: this weekend I planted more flowers and herbs and entertained some unexpected guests.

Emily:

Learn French : Considering taking a class in the fall. I can say this now that we’re done life listing knowing there will be no repercussions when I fail.

Go to France (or, more realistically, Quebec) : Depends on the exchange rate.

Read less tripe, more classics: I think I read approximately 2.5 classics while Life Listing.

Acquire and watch Mad Men Season 4 (preferably, at the same time as MFJ in order to facilitate more meaningful show analysis) : done

Grow vegetable garden and herb garden : done

Share wealth of vegetables, some in the form of pies: Perhaps I’ll bake a cucumber pie tonight. (Jolly Librarian comment: please don’t share.)

Cook dinner for friends (more often) : I did this a few times with varying levels of success.

Paint the dining room/paint shelves : 50% done

Construct a blue bottle tree: Painted a coffee table instead.

 

Jolly Librarian:

This week, I completed memorizing the countries of the world, for no good reason other than I found a good website. Still, this motivated me to learn more about our world. The first two on my list: India and China.

Writing: Yesterday, I wrote the 400th entry of The Jolly Librarian. We celebrated by staff members telling me that they couldn’t believe it since they’d only read five or six at the most. I went to the writing group with another chapter.

Learning French: After reading Emily’s entry today, I remembered that I’d joined Yabla a month ago to practice my French. Now I must find that UserID.

Weight Loss Challenge: Am still stuck on Week 5 of the Couch to 5K program. But did lose a pound last week.

 

Pam:

With this being our last writing, I would like to say that it has been a lot of fun. It’s been good to keep tabs and set goals –not that I’ve set a path to the goals, always, but …it does help to keep one mindful. Thanks to everyone who cared enough to read.

Letter writing

Let myself down by not writing to mom :-/

Performing

  • No shows planned; unfortunately. Just lack of motivation as a solo artist… Plan to jam with my buddy, Melissa tonight. Yay!

Walking

  • Forget about it.

Reading

  1. Loving  Margaret Atwood book, The Year of the Flood.
  2. The Fabric of Space and Time is so unbelievably deep, yet fascinating. It should only take me a year to get through it .

Weight 128

  •  Forget about it.

Farmer Gadd Chronicles

  1. Have harvested big tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, currant tomatoes (tiny),
  1. Threw out all of my cabbages except for 6 out of 21 –of which I managed to harvest as fist size heads. Have no idea why they all turned black. Never did see anything much on them.??
  2. Picked 1 – yes, 1 okra. More are hopefully on the way.  (Charles informed me he was looking for a recipe that called for 1 okra…hee)
  3. Watermelons and cantaloupes are growing .
  4. Yellow squash are amazing and blooming and beautiful.
  5. Green peppers are small but beautiful, as well as cayennes and jalapenos!

Keep house organized

Forget about it.

OTHER LIFE GOALS:

  • Learn to Scuba Dive
  • Go to Hawaii with my mom
  • Hike some on the Appalachian trail
  • Go canoeing this summer ACCOMPLISHED!
  • Go kayaking this summer
  • Go fishing and camping this summer in NC under the stars
  • Set up telescope
  • Make my office into a teaching studio ACCOMPLISHED
  • Visit the pyramids and Egypt
  • Tour the Holy Land via a cruise!
  • Visit Machu Pichu

Sally:

My leg continues to get stronger each day.  I am now able to stand up to pedal uphill.

Cars still make me nervous. I am working on getting funding for a greenway connector/fitness park in Mt. Juliet to help make it safer for people to use active transportation to get to destinations.

I will always continue to promote TEL and MERLOT. I actually created and Voki about MERLOT.

I am still working on the student portal for MERLOT. The new TBR elearning website does have a mobile app resource bank for finding good apps.  Check it out.  You can also submit apps for review. I also want to do a MERLOT workshop, mobile app workshop and a TEL workshop for students in the fall.

I will be submitting my Pre-Conference “Cycling for Libraries” session proposal and a proposal for a session called: “MERLOT 101 for Librarians” soon for the 2012 TLA conference.

New things I have learned:

Today, July 27, in 1940 Bugs Bunny made his first appearance on television. (Learned that from the train conductor this morning.)

Every second, 48 hours’ worth of video is uploaded to YouTube. That adds up to nearly 8 years of content daily!

A dragonfly can fly about 36 miles an hour.

The famous classical composer, Claude Debussy, using the pseudonym Monsieur Croche, wrote articles criticizing the cultural life of his time. Monsieur Croche is French for Mr. Eighth Note, or Mr. Quaver. The articles, which originally appeared in Paris journals, were later published in a book Monsieur Croche: The Dilettante Hater.

The Tucker Sedan, the futuristic 1948 car had a center headlight that turned with the steering wheel. The swiveling “Cyclops eye” center beam enabled the motorist to see what lay ahead in the direction the car would be traveling.

Oklahoma has more man-made lakes than any other state. It has more than 200—created by building dams across streams. Its only natural lakes are shallow playas and oxbows.

Bill Clinton’s Secret Service code name was shared by TV’s fictional president Josiah “Jed” Bartlet in The West Wing.  The borrowed code name was Eagle. For a brief period during the course of the popular dramatic series (1999–2006), Bartlet’s code name was changed to Liberty.

The Chicago White Sox were once issued Bermuda shorts and knee socks to wear on hot summer days. They wore them only once. In August 1976, owner Bill Veeck’s wife designed the uniform.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Library Life Listers: It’s Time to Start Anew!

Leave a Reply

