August Challenge: Read a Book, Week 1

The first of our monthly challenges was straightforward: Read a book. Not read a book a day or a week. Just read one book for pleasure during the month of August. So let me know if you’ve chosen your book. Library staff members are on this challenge as you might imagine. Here is what’s going on so far:

Terry Kane

“I’m reading John Brown by W.E.B. Dubois. ”

Emily Bush

“I’ve finished my book for the month: Lunch in Paris by Elizabeth Bard. It’s a thoroughly indulgent read – chocolate cake for the mind, if you will – with no redeeming value. The deepest thinking it evokes: “Should I try the ratatouille recipe first? Or the chocolate mousse?” This, however, is the type of thinking I like to do when reading for pleasure, which is why I’m following up Lunch in Paris with yet more food lit.  I plan to complete The Gastronomy of Marriage by Michelle Maisto any day now (see above for description, insert New York as setting). Two food lit books in a row is bit too indulgent, for even me, so next I’ll move onto this year’s Pulitzer winner, A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. Or, perhaps, I’ll become the last woman in the U.S. to read The Help.”

Charles May

“I’m reading two mysteries: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin and Iron Horse  by John Hart.

Jolly Librarian

“I endured some mocking last week when I mentioned I was reading The English Civil War: Papists, Gentlewomen, Soldiers, and Witchfinders in the Birth of Modern Britain by  Diane Purkill. Some thought  I was trying to show off; others thought I was just a disgusting nerd. But hear me out. My mom is English, and I was born there. As for the U.S., the Civil War was a pivotal event so I wanted to learn more about it. And it’s not a dry story of battles. It’s about people’s lives during the War.  On another note, I just finished The Heretic’s Wife  by Brenda Rickman Vantrease who is a Nashville author. This is about Tudor England and people who braved the threat of  bringing in Bibles written in English so that everyday people could read God’s word. It is a book I recommend, although there are some very sad parts.”

So that’s where we are this week. Check next week for the next update.

One thought on “August Challenge: Read a Book, Week 1

  1. Thoroughly enjoyed reading your’all’s entries. Admittedly, Charles looks like he could, and would like to, kill the photographer…I am now choosing my book and will check in soon! Pam

Leave a Reply

