August Challenge: Read a Book for Pleasure-Week 3

I hope you’ve chosen a book and are enjoying it. Our library group certainly is. Emily has gone to the beach, so I’m sure she’s reading another cook-lit guilty pleasure.

I finished reading about the English Civil War and just started China: A History by John Keay. I’m taking the opportunity to discover more about countries, and I love the Brits’ dry wit that comes across in their academic writing.

This week, three more library staff members have shared their pleasure reading choices. Here they are:

Sally

Sally Robertson:

Eat, Sleep, Ride, by Paul Howard.

” I am enjoying this book because it is a fun and entertaining story about the world’s longest mountain bike race, the Tour Divide. (I would love to try this one day.) The ride follows the Continental Divide through the Rockies from Canada to Mexico. He tells all of his adventures in a humorous way.  I recommend this book for anyone who likes mountain biking or any high adventure stories.”  Call number: GV1049.2 .T73 H6 2011.

Allison's Afternoon

Allison Boyd:

Title: The Brothers Karamazov

Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky

Why I’m reading it: A professor I deeply respect recommended it, and I found it at McKay’s.

Why I’m enjoying it: Philosophy, theology, and Russian love triangles.

Pam at Lunch

Pam Gadd:

“Hi and welcome from the front desk 🙂

I discovered my new read–still in my bag from school, yesterday and flung it into my bedroom so that I may dig in. It is:

 Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II by Mitchell Zuckoff.”

 

Until next week, keep reading!

 

Leave a Reply

