Monday Motivator: Be Thankful

This is the week when we think about all the things we’re thankful for in our lives. If you don’t mind, I’m going to give the major and obvious things (family, health, friends, etc.) a pass in this blog, although I’m thankful for them.

During the year, there are many minor, off-center things that happen that make me thankful as well. And here are some of them:

  • After buying tickets for Les Miserables, I thought it would be a good idea of read the novel, all 1300 pages of it. It is many ways typically Victorian with its bizarre coincidences and depiction of social inequities.  Hugo also thinks nothing of adding 50-page digressions (on the history of the Paris sewer system, for one). Probably too long to ever be taught in school, it is a book that can be a hard read, but a rewarding one.  I’m thankful I took it on this year.
  • I’m grateful for Facebook. Odd, I know. but this website allows me to keep in touch with high school and college friends, with colleagues who have moved now to different states, former students, and even colleagues on the other campuses. FB allows us to joke, show other sides of our personalities. In general, it’s just good fun.
  • I’m thankful that I work at a place that values creativity and eccentricity.
  • I’m grateful for LRC staff that works so hard to provide services for students but never forgets how to have fun (or mock their supervisor).
  • And although he has had cause, I’m glad Dr. Van Allen has never run me down with his car when I’m out walking/running in Bellevue. Because, let’s face it, it would be easy to pretend that it was an accident on Old Harding.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

 

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Be Thankful

Leave a Reply

