The Self-Improvement Chronicles: Week 2

Our mission for this week is to be more optimistic. Now, in general, the Jolly Librarian is fairly optimistic; in fact, so much so, I am having a hard time believing that the entire staff didn’t join in on the Self-Improvement bandwagon after I announced it last week. But am I letting the fact that no one asked to be a part of the team let me down? Not at all. I will simply move to more coercive measures.

While there are many studies that show the benefits of optimism, it’s important to be realistic. The person who always sees the good side may be not only optimistic but  also delusional.

For example, let’s say someone can’t get into library school, so he says that he’ll go to medical school instead and that will be just as good. Well, maybe so. But not if he didn’t put in the work for library school and is simply putting a good face on his lack of effort.

Optimism, like all good qualities, needs legs to walk on. And those legs are hard work and perseverance.

For our updates, Pam has not been very optimistic this week. Unfortunately, she has been sick and confined to her sofa. So I’m wishing her a speedy recovery.

For me, I found one of the ironies of having a week dedicated to optimism is that I suddenly become quite aware of the times that I’m not. I had a couple of pessimistic moments on Sunday and then again yesterday. But in general, I do see the glass as half full, and that does make the days go by much more pleasantly.

Now the hard part about this challenge is that it’s cumulative, so while I’m being optimistic, I also have to drink water, get enough sleep, and move. So far, so good. Although I’m wondering how my optimism will hold out at the end of the year when I’m having to do 52 things at once!

 

 

One thought on “The Self-Improvement Chronicles: Week 2

  1. Optimistically, I would like to comment that somehow, I seem to be much better than Mon/Tu/Wed and Thur. I am now dutifully sleeping with my mouth guard and hoping that this has been the reason for the extreme pain in the left side of my face….or…maybe it’s a STROKE!!! Oh, no…Maybe it’s trigeminal neuralgia!…What if it’s herpes!! Maybe it’s….a brain tumor and it’s pushing against my temporal facial nerve and….

    As you can see…I’ve got a bit to go in my plan to be optimistic…but, truly, I faced myself in the mirror this morning, slapped my goat’s milk lotion on my face, and calmed myself to go into the day hoping to be a good person and help others today. I even decided right then and there, “I”m gonna stop worrying. Just stop”…

    Just Stop….Lord, help me…I’m worrying that I can’t quit worrying and…..

Leave a Reply

