Monday Motivator: You Can Always Do Something!

Yesterday did not start well for me. I planned to get up early and complete several items on my “Summer Bucket List.” Instead after a night of uneasy dreams, I woke, not as a Kafkaesque giant insect, but myself, only grumpier and three hours later than I expected. I sat glumly over my cereal and coffee. berating myself for having wasted the day. I then came across my horoscope in The Tennessean: “You may not be able to do everything, but you can always do something.”

I am not a great believer in horoscopes, but I do believe in taking wisdom in whatever form it comes. So, I changed my thinking a bit. Instead of berating myself over time wasted, I made a list of what could still be done on a hot, stormy Sunday. And by the end of the day, I felt much better. Sure, I still had wasted three hours, but I hadn’t wasted the day.

Sometimes we sabotage ourselves with this “all or nothing” thinking. If we’re on a diet and eat cake, we consider ourselves a failure and suddenly nothing’s off-limits for the rest of the day. We don’t run in the morning and decide that we might as well give up on exercise. We have an awful day at work and let that bad feeling permeate our evening as well.

But adopting the idea that something can be done puts an entirely different slant on our lives. We’ve still eaten that cake, but there’s the rest of the day to eat better. We didn’t run, but we could make an effort to take the stairs or walk to the other building a few times during the day. We still had the bad day at work, but we take a deep breath in the car and decide we can salvage the evening.

Whether by cosmic design or simple coincidence, I’m grateful for yesterday’s horoscope. Sometimes you just need a reminder that moving ahead, no matter how slowly, is always preferable to stagnation.

 

 

One thought on “Monday Motivator: You Can Always Do Something!

Leave a Reply

