Friday’s Photo from the Library: Welcome, Colette!

 

The Mayfield Library welcomes Colette Strassburg who will be working at the circulation desk. She has a background in teaching and is looking forward to helping NSCC students with their research.

Here’s a little about Colette:

What jobs have you held?

I have been a college journalism instructor, a high school English instructor, a literary magazine editor, and a waitress.

What do you like to read?

For pleasure I like to read fiction and poetry; Sunday wouldn’t be Sunday without a morning newspaper.

We hear you write. What are some of the things you’ve written?

My bread and butter writing is journalistic in nature, with a preference for features and profiles.  My passion is poetry; I have a collection of poetry, The Certainty of Fingerprints, published by Finishing Line Press.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I’m a rock nerd, so I like to head out to the middle of nowhere and collect rocks and minerals which I grind and polish into cabochons.  I also spend time gardening, fishing and writing.

Do you have any pets? 

I have a Boston Terrier named Ozzie.

Do you have any advice for students?

Be thirsty in your pursuit of knowledge.  Ask questions, dig deeply and ponder, even when your brain hurts and Tosh.O is on TV

One thought on “Friday’s Photo from the Library: Welcome, Colette!

Leave a Reply

