Monday Motivator: Finish Something

“Nothing is so fatiguing as the eternal hanging on of an uncompleted task.” ~William James

It sits on my dining table and has now for several weeks. I would argue that I don’t even notice it any more except for the slight depressed feeling I get every time I walk by.

What is it? A pillow. A pink pillow with fringe.

I redecorated my home office, and the pink pillow in the chair no longer fits in. I bought a new pillow and put this one on the table meaning to give it away or to Goodwill. But now it sits there, not harming anyone, but serving as a constant reminder of a task yet unfinished. And, for some reason, weekends go by, and I never seem to get to it. The pillow has come to mean more than just a pillow but a symbol of all the things that I’ve never actually finished. Ugh.

William James was right. Having unfinished tasks hanging over us makes us tired and weighs us down. They might not prevent from taking on new jobs, but they do prevent us from taking them on with the energy and vitality they deserve.

So this week, take on a task that has been hanging around undone for too long. Finish it.  You’ll be surprised at how good it feels.

Yes, pillow, you are on your way to Goodwill! 

 

Leave a Reply

