The Self-Improvement Chronicles: An Attitude of Gratitude

Like most people, the Self-Improvers are putting aside a few moments to count their blessings this week.

Our reports:

Colette: 

I’m not going to blow the lid off originality here, but the things for which I am truly most grateful are the same things for which most of us are grateful.  I try often to say a quiet “thank you” to the universe for the loving people in my life, for good health and for being able to keep my priorities focused on those things.  Bottom line, I’m grateful I wake up happy every day, and that the people I love wake up that way as well.  On a less important scale, I’m grateful for a car with a good heater, a fridge with an ice maker, indoor plumbing, Ben and Jerry, talented authors and musicians, living with a massage therapist and owning a dog who is neither a barker nor a chewer.  I’m also grateful to live in a country with the good sense to celebrate family, food and football all on the same day.

Emily: I’m grateful for friends and family. I”m also grateful for all the turkeys who gave up their lives to be overcooked.

Pam: 

The other night I saw the most fabulous sight. I was driving along chatting with my mom and I saw a shooting star come falling out of the sky…and it fell, and fell, leaving a bright, wide streak as it arched. The head of it was so bright and twice as big as a regular star. I watched this meteor sail across the sky at least 4-5 seconds before it slowly burned out wondering, truthfully with my heart jumping a bit, if it might strike the earth! I learned the next day that very evening I’d spotted this amazing stream of light, that the earth was passing through the tail of Halley’s Comet! I AM THANKFUL I GOT TO WITNESS A PART OF THAT! My other feelings of gratitude at this special time of year are that my Mom is healing well, after a huge ordeal following her knee replacement surgery…(and we’re speaking again rather than yelling :-)–Did I mention I’m grateful for PATIENCE and learning deeper meanings of love? I’m grateful I’ve learned to cook and that it’s no longer a chore but has become a new hobby and challenge! Who would have thought? Certainly not Julia Child, I’ll tell you THAT! (OR my mother)! I’m thankful for my reconnection with my old, dear friends, the New Coon Creek Girls and the reunion shows we have been doing. I guess it goes without saying that I’m thankful for my job here at the library and having a boss who has a great sense of humor, as well as fabulous (truly) co-workers which make me miss them a bit when I go out of town for 10 days. Lastly, I’m thankful I got to be on this journey of life. I stay amazed at the miracle of it, the mystery of it and the wonderment. Happy Thanksgiving All!

Jolly Librarian: I am thankful for a healthy family. I am thankful for a job I like doing 99.9% of the time. I am especially grateful for colleagues and supervisors who support our various experiments. And I give special thanks to Emily, Colette, and Pam who (usually) good-naturedly have participated in these Wednesday blogs 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Self-Improvement Chronicles: An Attitude of Gratitude

  1. I am thankful for good parents, all my travels, the Hot Air Balloon Festival in Albuquerque, the Enchanted Circle near Taos, for freedom, the ability to be an expression of the great spirit, my colleagues and students, and finally, of course, my sweet dogs peanut and pixie, and my dear husband, Charles, and our daughter, Ally.

  2. I’m thankful for a job that I love to come to everyday, and for the MERLOT/TBR partnership that I am involved with. MERLOT is a great resource, and I love promoting it. It is exciting that Tennessee is leading the way in innovative mobile technology. I am also thankful to be alive, and for the new Music City Bikeway and greenways that make it safer to commute by bike in Nashville.

Leave a Reply

