The Jolly Librarian Ends the Semester

In exactly two hours and fifty-five minutes, fall semester will be over. Students will have finished their finals. Faculty will turn in their grades. We will still be here, but it will be a quiet time in the library.

At the end of each semester I like to take a moment to think over the good and the bad, the hits and misses of the previous fourteen weeks.

The Good:

  • We started ordering books in a shelf-ready format, which means they are available to students much faster.
  • Colette Strassburg joined our staff, and she is a great resource!
  • We tried a new research policy with certain comp classes, having the students come in for a research interview. This worked really well.

The Bad:

  • Attendance at our workshops was not great, and we’re trying to find a better way to provide that type of help to students.

I have to admit that it’s a pretty good semester when I can only list one negative.

On a more personal note, here are the Jolly Librarian’s own hits and misses:

Hits:

  • I’m always touched by the students who come by to tell us that we helped them through the semester. And that personal mini-bundt cake was a nice touch as well, not necessary, but nice.
  • A student brought his little girl in one day as he needed to watch a video for his class. I showed her the children’s books. Looking at one, she said, “It has words.” I agreed. She then said, “Read it to me.”” So I did. Let’s face it: That’s a book person’s dream!
  • I am very lucky to come to work at a place where people love what they do and are genuinely amiable and fun.

Misses:

  • My dream of a semester without getting a reprimand from the business office still remains a dream.
  • I have not been able to convince my staff of the necessity of a library music video.

All in all, it’s been a good semester. I hope yours has been as well, and I’m wishing us all a happy, healthy, and productive new year.

Leave a Reply

