The Jolly Librarian’s Christmas List (Books, Of Course!)

To be honest, books aren’t the only thing on my list for this year: lotion, a scarf, and a certain top all have a place. But, as usual, books take up the majority of the space:

  • John Adams by David McCullough. One of my goals has been to read a biography of each president as a way of becoming more familiar with American history. It is a goal that I keep putting off. But this year, I read the wonderful Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow and became inspired again.
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. This has been on my to-read list for a while, but when Mantel won two Booker awards, one for Wolf Hall and the next for its sequel Bring Up the Bodies, I knew I couldn’t wait any longer.
  • Excellent Women by Barbara Pym. Pym has been called the Jane Austen of the 20th century. So how can I resist?
  • The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths. I’m always looking out for a new mystery series, and when I read The Crossing Places featuring forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway, I knew I’d found it. This one is the second in the series.
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens. I have a list of books that an English major (me) should have read by now but hasn’t. Each year, I try to knock off a couple of books from that list. Last year, it was Les Miserables and Anna Karenina. This year, I return to Victorian England.

Share the titles that are on your lists.

Leave a Reply

