The Jolly Librarian Goes Walking

For most of my life, my time has been divided into semesters–where, for better or worse, things were accomplished or not in fifteen week periods. I went from having to have papers written in a semester’s time to having to have papers graded in a semester’s time. So while, I do make New Year’s resolutions, I tend to think in chunks of academic periods, not actual years. (So , in the back of my mind, I can change my resolutions every fifteen weeks.)

However, this year, I decided to try something a little different. For my physical goal, I am going to walk around Britain 🙂  Not literally, of course. I was reading 50 New Year’s Resolutions: How to Make Them, How to Keep Them by Fiona Steinkamp, and the first one was “Swim around Britain in a year.” According to her, this would average 654 lengths a week in an Olympic-size pool.

Now, I am not a swimmer, but the idea of a number to achieve at the end of the year did appeal to me. If I were sick or on vacation or just super-busy at work, I could make it up. So I thought I’d do the equivalent of walking around Britain.

My first job was to convert kilometers to miles: 1056.33. Divided by 52, that averages out to 20.31 miles a week. And that seems doable. I already have a pedometer to track my mileage and shoes to walk in, so I’m all set.

We’ll see how it goes. But this is the most enthusiastic I’ve been about a goal in a while. By the way, I’m now 1047.3 from my goal.

 

Leave a Reply

