Monday Motivator: Resolve to Let Things Go

A while back, I was going through some old journals. I was interested in one day’s entry. I went on and on about how upset I was, how angry I was, how I  would never get over the embarrassment. It was all quite heartfelt. And apparently, long lasting since I wrote about it for the incident for the next several days. It was so traumatic that I stated in large, loopy handwriting: I will never forgive this!

I’m sure you can guess what’s coming. I have no idea what happened! I suppose I thought I’d never forget something that awful, so I didn’t write down the event, just my reaction. I have to laugh at my soap opera-like, over-the-top response to something that was clearly forgettable.   

But it was a good reminder of how I may need a lesson in letting things go, that many of the things that get me so emotional may have little or no shelf life and are completely undeserving of such a response.

So I invite you to join me this year as I decide to let some things go:

  • Not every insult deserves a response.
  • Not every bad restaurant and store experience needs a complaint.
  • Not every colleague’s mistake needs to be commented on.
  • Not every moment of irritation and unhappiness needs to be communicated.
  • Not every complaint should be spoken.

A wise person once told me that the secret to a happy marriage is letting the small things go and that many things are smaller than they seem at first. I would argue the same goes for a peaceful workplace. 

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

