February 1: Another Beginning

After being depressed over my lack of progress on my 2013 resolutions, I woke up this morning in a better frame of mind. For one thing, a gentle snow had fallen. Also, I was about to meet some friends for breakfast.

But more than that, it was the beginning of a new month, and as I turned over my calendar to reveal the February Cezanne painting, I was inspired by the 28 blanks, still to filled in. So I decided to start again. 

Seneca tells us to count each day as a separate life, but, for me, there are just better times to start anew than others. I need more of a definite beginning: a new semester, a new year, even a new month.

 So this morning, I looked at my resolutions and recommitted to those that still speak to me. And I enter this unwritten month with optimism.

At least until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

