Reading Lives: Healthy Living

NSCC has degrees in Nursing, Surgical Technology, Occupational Therapy, and Health Care Management. Also, freshmen, when given the choice, like to choose disease-related research topics. In fact, one former Anatomy and Physiology instructor assignment the research topic, “My Favorite Body Part.” One aspect was to find diseases that affect that body part. That particular assignment caused some of our more Victorian librarians to blush a bit. Still, the point is that we have a good collection on health-related topics. Even for those just interested in health topics.

In books we have the Mayo Clinic series, covering topics such as diabetes, healthy aging, headaches, and cancer. Some of these are even ebooks, which you can find under the ebooks links on our homepage. And we have an excellent database through TEL: Health and Wellness Resource Center. 

You can get some good advice through the databases or you can read the tips from the library group for this week:

Colette: I am vice laden, and kind of lazy, so I feel like a big, fat, hypocritical cat.  Me handing out health tips is like Quasimodo handing out bottled water.  Without trying to sound like Mr. Miyagi, I would encourage people to seek balance, both in their life views and in the practical day-to-day operations of living. Seek balance in what you put into your bodies and in how hard you decide to play.  Life doesn’t need to be a feast or famine affair.  Rather than pursing deprivation or abundance, seek some daily balance.  Rather than giving up white food, just routinely put a little green food on the plate too.  Have a glass of wine with dinner each night, rather than drinking the whole bottle on Saturday night.  Take a walk if you take a nap.  Put some Ying with your Yang, some ebb with your flow, some orange juice with your vodka.  It usually works for me (unless it’s a special occasion which calls for abandon, like Groundhog Day or Blonde Brownie Day, or Tuesday).  Wax on, wax off Daniel-san.

Emily: I’m not qualified to give such tips. The New York Times –by way of the New England Journal of Medicine  — says to eat a Mediterranean diet. Here’s a quiz to see if you’re diet makes the grade! (Jolly Librarian addition: Emily is our researcher on health-related issues. On any given day, we might receive an email from her with articles attached that tell us our lighting is making us less productive, our diet drinks are killing us, or the worst stomach flu in history is coming our way.)

Pam: Today I am off to see a doctor who came highly, (extremely highly) recommended as an alternative medical practitioner to help me get my body balanced and in good working order. It is true, of late, I have felt like Edith Bunker on All in the Family as she screamed at Archie to “stifle, stifle, stifle” as she entered her midlife years! (Good grief, we do want the students to be assured they are loved and safely cared for, but if ONE MORE STARTS TEXTING while I am patiently showing them an article I have tediously dug out of a database…) And let’s hope, too, that the doctor can help me from being fired for for tearing my clothes off at the front circulation desk…Okay, I am exaggerating JUST a pinch, buuuttt), Let’s just say I am finding a much fonder attachment to Charles’ ever-present, whirling fan this winter. I’m sure each of our 8 devoted readers will be biting nails in anxious anticipation of the kind doctor’s regimen. I will keep everyone posted as to my exciting new health plan for becoming the attractive, slim, calm older woman I know I am meant to be. My goal, truly – no meds, healthy diet, natural supplements and a doable weight-bearing exercise plan. Oh, and one big, BIG tip of health advice as a closing statement. Listen to me now: Don’t eat too much at one time when you eat! I mean it. Don’t stuff yourself. I can’t be more serious. I am a stuffer, love to eat, love food, and after twenty years of hacking my head off (and gaining 25 lbs), I have reduced coughing 90% since I have cut my portions. I feel so much better after meals I can’t even tell you. I can breathe! (I forgot we are supposed to not be miserable after we eat)! Here’s the deal (yet another attractive asset of being the MATURE woman) – Seems as we age, like all of our other muscles :-(,  the esophageal sphincter muscle (that valve that connects the esophagus to the stomach) can weaken, thus allowing food to slip back out of the stomach (along with acidic digestive juices) into the esophagus. This creates the uncontrollable, nagging need to cough (why, I do not know – since our lungs are not in our stomach–but)…it is WORKING!! I’m nearly hack-free (and feeling more peace of mind, since continual irritation to the esophagus lining can lead to esophogeal cancer). It is a triumph! And, I am no longer sending students fleeing for their lives for fear of having wandered into the TB ward by mistake! To be continued…

Sally: My healthy living tip if to “Ride more bikes, eat more donuts” and deliver books via bicycle to more low income children.  My other health tip is that people need to always go to TEL’s Health and Wellness Resource Center (free for all Tennesseans) www.tntel.info 

Check this example out. It includes fact sheets, journal articles, pamphlets, and media.

I recommend being a biking librarian ( a bit cold this morning) it is healthy and fun.  It’s a great way to stay healthy and learn about your city.  I can’t remember the last sick day I took (other than wellness doctor’s appointments). 


Jolly Librarian: My healthy living advice is similar to my romantic advice. Follow me around for a day or two, watch everything I do, and then do the opposite.

Leave a Reply

