Monday Motivator: Throw Something Away

I once had a framed poster hanging on the wall over my desk. There was nothing special about it, just a print from an exhibit on the Ottoman Empire.

Then one day, I read an article that said to throw out all the things in your life that made you feel bad in one way or another. (Things that were ugly, worn-out, had bad emotional vibrations coming from them. You know the sort of article that shows up every so often in women’s magazines.)

But because I do like to de-clutter, I went through my house, I tossed some old tattered underwear and socks. I got rid of some jeans that were never ever going to fit again. Still, I kept coming back to the poster. Sitting in my desk chair, I remembered that right after I returned from the museum, I showed it to a man with whom I was having a rocky relationship. As I was unrolling the poster, he made some off-hand comment, letting me know he didn’t particularly want to see it. Not something I especially wanted to be reminded of each time I walked into my home.

I gave the poster away. And it did make me feel better.

So while everyone’s on spring break, time a moment to get rid of something from your past that weighs you down. (Or just some old tattered socks, for the emotionally healthy among you!)

 

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Throw Something Away

  1. I agree with getting things out of your home which bring a vibe of depression or sadness to you. I shall take this piece of advice and plan a Spring-cleaning inspection of my home this weekend. Thanks for the reminder 🙂 (and a good example used). Pam

Leave a Reply

