Monday Motivator: You Might As Well Be Yourself

I’ve been thinking of Gwyneth Paltrow, not because I’m a huge fan, although I did enjoy Shakespeare in Love. But last week, I ran across her name twice. One was in Zite, my iPad reader, in a headline stating that Gwyneth has now replaced Anne Hathaway as the most hated celebrity. Then on Friday, as I was checking out at Publix, I saw her photo on the cover of People announcing her as ‘the most beautiful woman in the world.’ 

Now most of us don’t live in a world that’s as skittish and random as that of celebrities who can be adored one day and reviled the next. Still, there is something to be learned here. No matter what you do, there will always be people who won’t approve. There will always be people who question your motives or criticize your results. 

So you might as well be yourself. It might not make life easier, but it does make it more authentic.  

Leave a Reply

