Reading Lives: Every Picture Tells a Story

Supporting a degree in photography, the library has a nice collection of pretty books by and about famous photographers. All of these beautiful photographs made us wonder what photos mean the most to us.  Here goes:

Colette:Image

In this picture, my mom and sisters and I are at Great Sand Dunes National Park in Colorado.  My dad is out of frame, taking the photo, but I feel him there anyway.  It’s hard to tell we’re camping, but trust me, we are wearing our camping dresses.  Why we’re camping in dresses is beyond me;  we got as dirty and messy as any kids, but my mom made sure we started each morning pressed and clean and put together, so I guess this photo is early in the day.  I’m the chubby one with the inordinate interest in her toes.  I think it’s because I’m feeling wet sand between my toes for the first time.  A few years back, I hand colored a version of this photo for each member of my family; each of us has it hanging somewhere in our homes, which makes me smile.

Emily: Image

At risk of being terribly cheesy, this is a photo taken on my wedding day. I’d thrown-up just before this photo was taken and threw-up again shortly thereafter on a perfectly good pair of shoes. My co-workers find this story, or lack thereof, endlessly amusing and seem to think that the Jolly Librarian’s 10 readers would benefit from knowing it. (Jolly Librarian editorial comment: Stomach viruses don’t care about wedding days.)

Pam:

Image

“Now we’re not ones to go around spreading rumors…No, really we’re just not the gossiping kind…You’ll never catch one of us repeating gossip…So you better be sure and listen close the first time”!

This picture has always made me smile. I remember doing this when I was with Wild Rose, perhaps the last year that Hee Haw was still on the air. We just squeezed in, and OH, HOW FUN! I tossed back and forth between this one as the Hee Haw Honeys, or one with Pam Perry (next to me here) in the cornfield with Goober! This was a pretty big highlight in my career to be a part of such a legendary show I had grown up with. Pam Perry and I are now doing reunion shows with the Kentucky-based bluegrass band we were in before our Wild Rose days called The New Coon Creek Girls. This was taken about 1990.

Sally:

sally grandchild

This is a photo of my son, Jason, his wife, Shelby, and their newborn son Isaak, but for some reason she did not not get it. I also wrote a poem about the photo. Here it is:
Newborn baby
Soft, cute
Jason and Shelby’s masterpiece.
Sleeps, smiles
New grandson
Isaak

Jolly Librarian: 

cardigan

I included this photo to show two things: 1. I have always had a love for cardigans. 2. I perfected the “What do you mean, you want a day off?” expression early in life.

3 thoughts on “Reading Lives: Every Picture Tells a Story

  1. I had sent a photo (3 times) of my son, Jason, his wife, Shelby, and their newborn son Isaak, but for some reason she did not not get it. I also wrote a poem about the photo. Here it is:
    Newborn baby
    Soft, cute
    Jason and Shelby’s masterpiece.
    Sleeps, smiles
    New grandson
    Isaak

Leave a Reply

