Summer Bucket List: Part Deux

Yesterday was graduation, so summer has now unofficially started. A couple of  years ago, I came across the idea of the ‘summer bucket list,’ items that you wanted to do before the summer ended. 

Although some people might scoff at the idea of putting summer in a ‘strait jacket,’ I’m a fan. For one, I can’t count the number of times, people have said to me or I’ve said to them, “We really must get together this summer.” And then in August, we’d look at each other mystified that somehow we’d not managed to see each other once. In our minds, summer tends to be this one long magical period, somehow glistening with promise, but always in the future. So too often, that promise is unfulfilled. The summer bucket list keeps those vague promises we make to ourselves in front of our eyes, so we can either follow up or admit that maybe we never wanted to do them in the first place.

Second, as much as I hate to admit it, I am not good with unstructured time. I’ll say that this is the afternoon, I plan to go to the museum, and then two hours later, I have instead filled up a Pinterest board with images of pretty paintings. The bucket list, for me, is just a fancy way of saying a to-do list, but with more entertaining and meaningful items on it.

So this summer, the library staff will again writing and marking items off their summer bucket lists. Follow along and make one of your own.

Leave a Reply

