Monday Motivator: Take a Moment to Celebrate

Last Tuesday we held our graduation ceremony. As usual, it was hot in the gym, and I did my customary prayer that I wouldn’t faint in front of all those people. Also, I had my usual difficulties with my cap; my curly hair does not like caps. It tends to spring them right off my head.

Still, I like the ceremony itself. I enjoy listening to the families cheer their graduates. I enjoy the smiles on the students’ faces as they cross the stage. I love the happiness of the entire night.

Like students, faculty are also tired–after a long year of preparing, presenting, and grading, not to mention the obligations to the college outside of the classroom. But I hope they took a moment during the ceremony to celebrate their contributions to students’ goals and dreams.

If we ever doubt the importance of our work, I think all we have to do is remember those happy faces of our graduates and their families. We need to celebrate such moments! 

Leave a Reply

