The Summer Bucket List: Being Creative

“To be creative means to be in love with life. You can be creative only if you love life enough that you want to enhance its beauty, you want to bring a little more music to it, a little more poetry to it, a little more dance to it.” – Osho

One of the nice things about summer is that with longer days and a slower pace, we have the time to do something creative. Or perhaps the warm, long days put us in the mood to get out and do something new. Anyway, our goal for this week was to do something creative (and we each got to define ‘creative’). 

Here are our reports:

Colette: I’m not sure what got into me, but I crafted like it was Christmas this week.  In addition to things I routinely do, like writing and grinding cabochons in my lapidary shop ( I made a pretty cab out of a deep red jasper), I added a couple new tasks to the list.  I typically just pile my finished cabs into a drawer or put them in the attic.  I don’t wear much jewelry and have never gotten interested in turning my stones into jewelry, but this week I turned a piece of lace agate into a necklace. Voila!  Now I can start piling necklaces into a drawer or in the attic.  I also made my dad a Father’s Day card, which I haven’t done since I was a kid.  It turned out well and I think it will make him smile.  Maybe I’ll make him something out of dry macaroni noodles too, and really turn back the time machine.

Pam: I like this one. I am collecting large rocks from along the road and putting them around my trees and certain flower arrangements throughout my yard. It is SO much fun and helps me get exercise and get my mind off things! I will take pictures of my new ongoing adventure! 

Sally: I am creating a sampler for my grandson with his name, date of birth, weight and some nautical symbols on it. I am also creating a presentation about the new MERLOT website for the librarian and the ROCC conferences this summer at ASPU. 

Jolly Librarian: I am writing a series of short stories about characters who all attend the same concert at the Ryman Auditorium one evening. I took one story to my writing group, and I joined a second writing group this week. 

Leave a Reply

