Summer Bucket List: Enjoy a Summer Meal

Probably everyone’s memories of childhood summers include food: picnics, cookouts, ice cream trucks, and/or gardens. So this week, we decided to indulge in some summery gastronomic delights:

Colette: The best summer eating, I think, comes from eating fresh.  This week I made a recipe using as many ingredients from my garden as possible.  There is something very rewarding about going into your yard and coming in with dinner.  I made a smoked gouda, tomato and basil frittata. 

 The eggs came courtesy of our chickens, Grace, Scout and Frederick (who got a boy’s name because she was named by a child who didn’t know chicken gender from a hole in the ground).  We get three eggs each day, so it takes two days to gather the eggs necessary for the recipe.  The tomatoes (I used a handful of grape tomatoes because I like those best), basil and jalapeno came from the garden.  Since I don’t grow olives or make my own cheese (yet) those ingredients came from the food store.

 Smoked Gouda, Tomato and Basil Frittata

Ingredients

  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon diced jalapeno
  • 2 large ripe tomatoes, peeled and sliced (or grape tomatoes)
  • 1/2 pound smoked gouda, diced
  • 2 tablespoons slivered basil leaves
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Preheat the broiler.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs with the milk.

Pour the oil into a large ovenproof skillet. Place over medium heat on the stovetop and pour in the egg mixture. Scatter the tomatoes, cheese, jalapeno and basil over the eggs. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

When the bottom just begins to brown, place the skillet under the broiler just until the top is set, a minute or less. Remove from the oven and use a large spatula to transfer the frittata to a serving platter. Cool about 10 minutes, cut into wedges, and yum.

 Image

Emily: It’s not exactly a summer recipe, but I baked a birthday cake for my dad over the weekend. Though you probably can’t tell it, baking a cake’s a day long undertaking for me – two days if you include the debate over what cake to bake. Last year I made a pistachio cake with a butter cream frosting that left me in tears. Taking note of the extreme humidity, I decided to go with a sturdier cake, chocolate peanut butter.

Image

Pam: Hey, I actually DID this one! On this journey with helping take care of my mother and attempting to feed her well on her journey with a fatty liver, while visiting her and her husband, Chester in Kentucky I threw this together, and it was a huge success! Mom, who announced she didn’t like kielbasa (as well as my step-sister Pam) snapped it right up! I sautéed turkey kielbasa in a small amount of vegetable oil. After the sausage had browned well, I added in snap peas, Vidalia onion (yummy), white mushrooms, and delicious red pepper. I added NO salt or pepper or anything, and it was simply delicious if I do say so myself- and I DO!  I served this atop a bed of rice and had cucumbers, tomatoes and a bowl of freshly prepped fruit to go with it, along with bread and butter. Yum Yum! 

Sally: Something cold is always good on a hot summer day.

Spicy Honeydew Pops:

3 cups cubed honeydew

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup Key lime juice

1/8 t ground red pepper

 Blend all ingredients. Pour into molds, freeze 8 hours.

Jolly Librarian: Okay. I made this assignment to force myself to make something. I had visions of buying veggies at the Farmers’ Market and whipping up a delicious and healthy dinner. Then as it became obvious that I wasn’t going to do that, I thought I’d find my old blender, buy some fresh fruit, and make a milkshake. That didn’t quite work out either. In the end, I did go to a restaurant with some friends, enjoy a nice summer hamburger and refreshing beverage, and laughed and talked for a hour. And that seems quite a summery thing to do.

Leave a Reply

