The Quotophiles

Our quotation for this week is from Theodore Roosevelt:

If you could kick the person in the pants responsible for most of your trouble, you wouldn’t sit for a month.

Here are our wise responses:

Colette: Tru dat, Teddy.  When push comes to shove, many of us are our own worst enemies.  Most of the people I hang with are harder on themselves than they are on others. I also fall square in this category.  We expect from ourselves the kind of greatness we don’t expect from others, and we tend to be less forgiving of ourselves when we make mistakes.  We are champion self-kickers.  This is how it should be though, if the alternative is the person who is constantly pointing outward and blaming others for his troubles.  I’ll take a good self-kicker over a finger pointer every time. 

Emily: I’ve always been pretty hard on myself. As a child, I usually started crying before my parents could dole out real punishment – when my brothers would ask why I never got spanked my parents replied that I punished myself. So I guess I’m glad I can’t kick myself in the pants. 

Pam: Interesting that this would be this week’s quote. Just yesterday I sat with my dearest friend at a Thai restaurant up the street and felt a pang in my heart as I looked at her sadness of being disappointed in herself, as always, and said the very thing she (and so many others) have said to me my entire adult life, “I think you are too hard on yourself”. Why is it that we scrutinize ourselves in the harshest way, and yet, we sit lovingly, patiently with those we adore and see only the very best in them? Why can we not see ourselves in them and hear our own voices reflected in our own hearts? I don’t know, but I am reminded that this is one of the best reasons to cling to those friends who hold us so dear and praise them just a little more often. God knows they must surely be comforted by the unconditional acceptance. 

Jolly Librarian: My preferred method of exacerbating trouble: procrastination. In college, I always put off writing papers until the last minute, so the process was always much harder and cumbersome than it had to be. If I noticed a suspicious spot on my skin (and I’m a pale girl in the South; there’s always a suspicious spot on my skin), instead of calling the doctor, I’d worry over the horrible disease I most likely had, how I would have to take time off work, how no one would visit me in the hospital, etc, etc. So by the time I made it to the doctor’s office, I not only had a suspicious spot, but also, very likely, a nervous rash. So I’m with Teddy on this one.

Leave a Reply

