Our Favorite Books This Year

Favorite Book:

Colette: I think I’m the last person, at least the last one who works at the Mayfield Library, to read it, but in 2013 I finally got around to reading A Family Fang by Kevin Wilson.  The utter dysfunction and chaos in their family was great vicarious fun.

Emily: I’ve never considered myself a fan of historical fiction, however two of my favorite books published this year (that I  got around to reading) are Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler and The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell.  My favorite books I read this year are We have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson and The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. The reason: Page turnability.

Jolly Librarian: It’s always hard to choose a favorite book, so I’m going to break my list down into categories. My favorite novel was The Interestings by Meg Wollitzer. My favorite book of poetry was Open Shutters by Mary Jo Salter. And as I continue my reading of the presidents’ lives, my favorite biography so far has been John Quincy Adams by Harlow Giles Unger. 

One thought on “Our Favorite Books This Year

Leave a Reply

