The Jolly Librarian’s Reading Resolutions

These are some the books I want to read in 2014 listed in no particular order:

  • I am reading a biography of each of the presidents, well, up to the living ones. I’m not sure how objective biographies are of people who are still alive. Last year, I made it through Jackson. Van Buren is next on my list. I’m having a hard time getting excited about him,even though there was a gang in his honor on Seinfeld. This year, I hope to make it to the 20th century.
  • I have the new Jonathan Swift biography on my bookcase: Jonathan Swift: His Life and His World by Leo Damrosch. But someone told me I really needed to read Gulliver’s Travels first. So that is my forgotten classic for this year.
  • I am also a mystery novel fan, so I want to read the new releases by Deborah Crombie, Susan Hill, Ann Cleeves, Charles Todd, and Peter Robinson.
  • Each year, Goodreads members can join in a reading challenge. This year, I’ve pledged to read 60 books. Wish me luck!

What are the books on your 2014 list?

Leave a Reply

