Monday Motivator: Do a Little Spring Cleaning

This weekend, I noticed that my bedroom curtain was weighed down with dust, so I took it outside for a good shake before throwing it in the washing machine. For some reason this action reminded me of a quotation from Thoreau. And being both literature major and procrastinator, I stopped cleaning to look it up:

I had three pieces of limestone on my desk,
but I was terrified to find that they required to be dusted daily,
when the furniture of my mind was all undusted still,
and threw them out the window in disgust.– Walden

Unlike Thoreau, I like my stuff, so I kept cleaning. But I did have to agree that the furniture of my mind had become quite dusty. Now this realization did not bring me to any great changes over the weekend. Still, I know that I have some work to do. As with my curtain, I have managed to overlook the dust that has been gathering and weighing me down. I have gotten into an intellectual and emotional rut, and there is some deadwood that needs to get thrown out the mental window.

Wish me luck. And I challenge you, when starting your spring cleaning, do not overlook your mind’s furniture! Hopefully, you’ll not have the accumulation of mental dust that I’ve found, but still a good shake probably won’t hurt one bit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

