Monday Motivator: To Thine Own Self Be True

I am not a morning person. That is actually putting it too mildly. I basically hate everything about mornings. I don’t like that the sun is shining so brightly that I have to bury my face in the pillow to go back to sleep. I don’t like alarm clocks. I don’t like leaving my bed. I don’t like that people want to talk to me. 

But for years, I have tried to change because, let’s face it, morning people rule the world. Success books and blogs extol the virtues of early rising. And morning people often judge those of us who don’t get up at the crack of dawn and are at work before the doors are even unlocked.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I simply can’t make myself a morning person. I can get my body out of bed (well, some of the time) but not my mind. To me, the morning hours drag past. I can’t seem to do any real thinking, and I feel mired in quicksand on projects. However, the minute that morning passes and afternoon has arrived (yes, the stroke of noon), I suddenly perk up and my to-do list no longer seems so overbearing and endless. 

I’ve even brought this self knowledge to my work-out. Two weeks ago, I started going to the gym at 7:30 or 8 in the evenings. Suddenly, I felt like a kid again, having play time after supper instead of forcing myself through a routine. Yes, it requires an extra quick shower when I get home, but it makes my day better. So I’m sticking to it.

The lesson here is simple: Find what works for you. And then do it.

 

One thought on “Monday Motivator: To Thine Own Self Be True

  1. Thanks for this. It’s nice to be reminded that we aren’t horrible people for being different than what is taught to be ‘better’ or ‘the norm’. Good lesson here. You’re not lazy, you’re just on a different cycle 🙂

Leave a Reply

