Monday Motivator: Give People a Second Chance

Yesterday I was in a store and needed some help. If you know me, you know this is pretty big deal. One, I’m an introvert who doesn’t particularly like talking to strangers. Two, I usually think I can find the answer myself. But after fruitless searching, I knew I was going to have to talk to the salesperson.

“I think I’m going to need some help finding the right size,” I said. She looked at me, sighed, looked down at the paper in her hand and said with no enthusiasm whatsoever, “Well, okay, I need to go downstairs to look something up for another customer. But come on.”

My first response was to say ‘Never mind” and run out of the store. But I really needed the item. So off we went, me wishing that I had waited for the second, more jovial assistant on the floor. But as she asked me questions, she turned out to be really nice, and I realized her initial abruptness resulted from the stress of trying to do several things at once.

Not only did she find the item I was looking for, she showed me some alternatives that might work just as well, and ended up giving me some great advice when shopping in the future. I’m glad I didn’t run away

It was a good reminder that none of us should be judged by a single action.

Leave a Reply

