Monday Motivator: Be Thankful

This is Thanksgiving week, and gratitude is the theme for many of us as we reflect on our health, our friends, and our families. But let’s also be thankful for the less-obvious things that make our lives happier as well.

Here’s my list:

  • I am grateful for the plumbers who came to my house last week. They made my shower run again. So now I can take a hot shower without standing in a pool of water. And while I’m at it, I’m grateful for all the engineers and builders throughout history who learned how to create indoor plumbing, hot running water, and shower heads that can get thick, curly hair soaking wet.
  • I am thankful that I could pay the plumber without having to put off another crucial purchase, something my parents had to do more than once.
  • I am thankful for Susanne, who, every three months, takes on the job of cutting my crazy, curly hair. I am grateful that she enjoys her job and spends time learning new techniques.
  • I am grateful for quick reflexes, which made me the neverending butt of jokes in junior high school. People always pretended to throw things at me just to see how fast my arms went up to cover my face. But this weekend, those same reflexes helped me steer my car out of the way when a woman ran a stop sign.
  • The fact that I’m writing this means that I live in a culture that values literacy for all social classes and for women as well as men. I’m very grateful for that.
  • I’m grateful that I’ve discovered new authors to read, especially Gabrielle Zevin (The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry and Julie Schumacher (Dear Committee Members). I’m thankful for all writers who work so hard at inventing stories and telling them so beautifully.

So here’s my list. What’s on yours?

Happy Thanksgiving!

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Be Thankful

  1. Didn’t you just adore The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry. That was one of the best books I have read in years. Also Dear Committee Members makes me laugh so hard because it’s all so true. It should be required reading for all college faculty.

Leave a Reply

