2014 Lists: Our Favorite Book of the Year

Andrew: The Quiet Room: A Journey out of the Torment of Madness by Lori Schiller and Amanda Bennett. It tells the true story of Lori’s struggle with schizoaffective disorder that was a challenge to diagnose and resistant to treatment.  Although she expressed her discouragement through violent and suicidal behavior, she finally finds hope. I found this book at the NSCC library, and it was so interesting that I’m going to order it from Amazon.

Colette: 2014 was a good year for good books; perhaps my favorite (and most recent) was Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher.  The entire novel is written as a series of letters of recommendation, written by a fictional professor.  I was impressed by how much plot and character development the author squeezed into such a unique format.  I laughed out loud and that hardly ever happens when I read.

Emily: The Secret History by DonnaTartt.  After refusing to read The Goldfinch, I picked up a copy of  The Secret History at Costco (anytime they have a decent book, I impulse buy it). The Goldfinch is now on my nightstand. Favorite book released in 2014 that I also read in 2014: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

Faye: The Bible is my favorite book. Every year, I plan to read the Bible from cover to cover. Some years I don’t complete the New Year’s resolution—but each year I keep trying. The more that I read the Bible, the more I can understand God’s Word. The Concord Reference Bible presents the King James Version of the Bible in a clear and readable print. It offers a treasure of reference material, dictionary of names and phrases, and maps. The words of Christ are printed in red.

Sally: The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. I have to include this one too: Ecology, Economy, Equity: the path to a carbon-neutral library by Mandy Henk.

Jolly Librarian: There were so many good books this year. I too enjoyed The Goldfinch, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, and Dear Committee Members. I also enjoyed What Strange Creatures by Emily Arsenault and A Field Guide to Happiness by Linda Leaming.  

Leave a Reply

