Monday Motivator: Be Prepared to Go to Plan Z

Plan b

Last week, like most of Nashville, I was stunned by the intensity of the ice storm that hit our city. I quickly realized that I had only one plan to deal with icy weather: that I would stay inside overnight until the ice melted. When the ice didn’t melt, I was in trouble.

Let me count the ways:

  • My shovel was iced in the storage room off my deck, and nothing was opening that door.
  • I was also sick and had only a quarter bottle of Nyquil left. When that ran out and ice was still firmly entrenched, I had to go scrape my car’s windshield.
  • Let’s just say that a car left outside to its own devices after an ice storm and two days of below-freezing weather requires more than the average scraping job. In the middle of the job, my ice scraper snapped in two.

You get the picture. Luckily, my neighbor loaned me her shovel to break the ice off my front step. I had filled my car up the week before, so I could keep it running to help melt the ice. And when I got to the drug store, there were still ice scrapers available.

But I have learned some valuable lessons:

  • Just because it has before, don’t assume the temperature will bounce up thirty degrees the day after an ice storm.
  • Even if you don’t have to go into work, don’t assume you won’t need your car and scrape the ice off it every so often.
  • Always have an extra bottle of Nyquil around because, no matter what the weather, when you’re sick you won’t feel like going out to get some more.
  • Be prepared for backup plans to go awry, and have a couple more up your sleeve.

And after seven days of almost continuous home confinement, I now give anyone permission to slap me if I’m heard complaining about the heat this summer.

Leave a Reply

