Monday Motivator: Battling Cabin Fever

No matter how much I might stay home and read when it’s my choice, the minute I don’t have that choice, I get a bad case of cabin fever. Last week, that fever was caused by the eight inches of snow that covered Nashville. Immediately, I wanted to get out. Unfortunately, I am the world’s worst driver on snowy/icy roads, so I stay put.

Luckily, after many years of this, I do now have a sort of cabin fever response kit. Here’s what gets me through:

  • Have snacks. Now, it’s easy to think that being snowed in is a perfect time to start your new diet, and you’ll be a responsible adult who eats the healthy food in your refrigerator and cupboards. Forget that immediately. After five hours of being snowed in with your family or yourself, you’ll need some sugar and/or grease to make it through the day. My personal favorites are powdered donuts and vinegar and salt potato chips. Believe me, when you’re in the 33rd hour of looking at the same four walls, powdered donuts calm you in a way that celery just can’t.
  • Get outside. Now for people who love snow, this is probably not much of a suggestion. In fact, they’re probably not even reading this because they are still outside building snowmen out of what’s left of the rapidly melting snow. Bur for the rest, it may seem like a lot of work to put on five or six layers of sweatshirts and coats, dig our snow boots out of the closet, and go outside where it is freezing cold. And it’s not always a good idea. Last year, during an ice storm, at least four people I knew ended up with broken bones. But this time, it was simply snow. So each day, I went out. I cleaned my walk. I walked to the mailbox. I took some photos. These little jaunts cheered me up.
  • Put your Pinterest account to use. According to Pinterest, I have several thousand pins, many of them about housecleaning tips or exercises. So now I have a very clean microwave, a sweeter-smelling dishwasher, and my abs are sore.
  • Of course, have books available. My to-read list is a little shorter.
  • And have something to watch. It was fortunate that our snowstorm coincided with the Australian Open. I could indulge my love of tennis late into the night.

A friend once told me that I didn’t have the strength to make it through a Northern winter. She is probably right. Because, even with my snow survival kit, the best thing is knowing that here in the South, even the worst cabin fever will be over in two-three days.

Leave a Reply

