Monday Motivator: Be Kind to One Another

I have been thinking of this poem all week:

A Man Said to the Universe

BY Stephen Crane

A man said to the universe:
“Sir, I exist!”
“However,” replied the universe,
“The fact has not created in me
A sense of obligation.”
The universe has not seemed just indifferent but cruel this week. And Saturday, after I returned home, I felt its weight bear down on me, so I flipped on the television and came across the new season of My Cat from Hell.  I like cats; I like happy endings. So I expected to cheer up a little.
Jackson Galaxy, the cat man, was called to a family who had gone to New Orleans to help after Hurricane Katrina on the urging of their then five-year-old son. While there, he found this cat and brought him home. But now the cat was old and urinating around the house, and the boy was ready to give up.
In most cases, the cat is not the problem; the people are. So Jackson worked with the boy, helping him to become the cat’s cheerleader and fan again. (And putting litter boxes around the house.)  By the end, the old cat was once again a member of the family.
And I had realized something. The universe will sometimes be indifferent and cruel. But we never have to be.
One thought on “Monday Motivator: Be Kind to One Another

  1. Yes, we should always be happy, even when the library catalog is messed up, because to quote one of my favorite children’s books, “some days are like that, even in Australia!”

Leave a Reply

