Monday Motivator: Have Supplies

Last week, I was sick. All week. What started as a scratchy throat on Sunday turned into chills, fatigue, and a full-out sore throat by Monday. I slept most of every day, then went downstairs to watch reruns of Gilmore Girls and nap some more.

While I was not desperately ill, I have to admit that the thought of washing my face seemed like a monumental task. And the idea of putting on clothes and going out to get supplies seemed the equivalent of climbing Mount Everest.

Luckily, I didn’t have to. Having had my share of viruses over the years, I learned that it’s wise always to have some basic things in my house: tissues, cough drops, sinus medicine, soup, and soda (My sore throat always craves soda more than hot tea. Go figure!)

Sure, in case of the zombie apocalypse, I’m not going to have enough to make it through the first wave of the invasion. But for the pesky summer cold,  I was well supplied.

It occurred to me that this is a pretty good rule for most areas of life. Although I will never have the desire, I am more likely to clean my house if I have sponges, bleach, and cleansers at hand. There is a much better chance I’ll send the thank-you note if I have stamps. And I’ll send cards if I have a stack of them in a drawer.

So this week, I’m back among the healthy and going to the store. Because last week, I used up all my throat lozenges.

 

Leave a Reply

