Monday Motivator: Mark a New Beginning

Because I’ve spent my entire life in academic settings, I mark my life in terms of semesters. For me, there are several beginnings each year, but there is something special about the start of fall semester: There are new students and faculty, and it’s nice to run into folks I’ve haven’t seen since May.

When you were a kid, you probably marked the beginning of school with new notebooks, pencils, a backpack, maybe even some new clothes. I think we should do the same as adults. Let’s remind ourselves that we really are beginning something new and not just going about another day at work or school.

I start each semester with one or all of the following:

  • a pretty notebook. I’m especially partial to one with flowers on the cover.
  • a new set of gel pens. (Purple, purple, and more purple)
  • a new purse. (Okay, that might be more often than the beginning of the school year.)

But most of all, I try to bring a new attitude. Because although it may be the millionth time I’ve told someone where the “A” Building is located, it is the first time this student has asked. I try to look at the day through the  eyes of that new student: how strange and a little scary everything must appear. When I can do that, I find myself being more patient and intent on being one of the positive aspects of the student’s first day at college.

Here’s to a happy and productive academic year to us all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

