Monday Motivator: Just Move On.

Can we all agree that, no matter what embarrassing thing we did yesterday. it was not as bad as providing someone with the wrong card at the Oscars or calling out the wrong film or being the wrong people  to grab the statuette?

Luckily, for me, I had already gone up to bed because, when I see these sorts of things, I completely identify with the people involved and get upset myself.

But you know what? All of those people woke up this morning (some probably a little worse for wear from the after-parties), and got back to living their lives. There are still interviews to be done, movies to make, and paparazzi to avoid.

We won’t die of embarrassment. A few years ago, I was in Italy and about to visit the Vatican. I had taken some medicine on an empty stomach, and that, combined with the taxi ride, made me sick as the proverbial dog. I threw up outside the Vatican walls.

I was embarrassed. But while I sipped on water, I realized that the Vatican has been around for hundreds of years and that there was no way I was the first person to vomit in its vicinity. I also realized that no one, except my friends, was paying attention to me. People rushed by without glancing at the woman on the sidewalk.

Embarrassment is an inconvenience, but it shouldn’t be a barrier to achieving our goals.

 

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Just Move On.

Leave a Reply

