Monday Motivator: Break a Bad Mood

A couple of days ago, I had a terrible day at work. Every decision I made was questioned, and by the end of the day, I had a headache and doubted my ability to get anything done. All I wanted was someone to be nice to me. (Or in lieu of that, a giant raspberry chocolate ice cream cone.)

As I was leaving the parking lot, I saw that a car with a student sticker had its lights on. (It had been a rainy day, and the student had probably forgotten to turn the lights off after parking.) I found one of our security guards,and he started the hunt to find the student.

As I was driving home, I realized I was feeling better. My headache had lessened, and I found myself singing along to my playlist. I had contributed in making someone else’s day better. A student would not come out after a long class to find that his battery had died. That made me happy.

And so I accidentally discovered the solution to a bad mood: It was not finding someone to feel sorry for me.

It was helping someone else.

One thought on “Monday Motivator: Break a Bad Mood

Leave a Reply

