30 Day Challenge

I was searching for some material today for our freshman experience course when I came across this Ted Talk by Matt Cutts:

Try Something New for 30 Days

There are all sorts of 30-Day Challenges out there. You can improve your abs, your thighs, your chest, your arms, etc. You can write a poem, take a photo, clean some part of your house, even perform a random act of kindness each day.

There are various reasons for the popularity of these challenges:

  • They are short enough to actually complete. The end is always in sight.
  • They are long enough to establish a pattern.
  • Maybe most important of all, to commitmentphobes like me, they don’t carry the same kind of emotional weight as a goal or a resolution.

So tomorrow I’m going to start a 30-day challenge. I haven’t quite made up my mind yet about what it’s going to be. (Stay tuned!)

Why don’t you join me by taking up a challenge of your own?

 

Leave a Reply

